Criss-Cross Black Vinyl LP

Thelonious Monk      

Criss-Cross Black Vinyl LP

• Mastered from Original Analog Tapes by Bernie Grundman
• Pressed on 180 gram audiophile-grade vinyl at Pallas Group in Germany
• Numbered limited edition of 2,000 Copies

1963's Criss-Cross served as Thelonious Monk's second recording for Columbia Records following Monk's Dream which was issued earlier the same year. Produced by Teo Macero, the singular pianist is joined on the first-rate 8-song endeavor by the likes of Charlie Rouse (tenor saxophone), John Ore (bass) and Frankie Dunlop (drums).

The excellent quartet offers up takes on six classic Monk compositions including "Hackensack," "Criss-Cross," "Eronal," "Rhythm-A-Thing," "Think Of One" and "Crepuscule With Nellie" to go along with compelling renditions of the standards "Tea for Two" (Irving Caesar/Vincent Youmans) and "Don't Blame Me" (Dorothy Fields/Jimmy McHugh).

Monk's Criss-Cross has truly never sounded better than on this 180 gram pressing, which was mastered from original analog tapes by Bernie Grundman and pressed on audiophile-grade vinyl. Limited to 2,000 units worldwide, each copy is individually numbered with a gold-foil stamp.

"In Criss-Cross, his second for CBS, Thelonious is at his greatest. The tightly knit group is woven together by Thelonious' imcomparable piano. From first note to last, the album swings! It is difficult, indeed, to recall that it is sometimes said that Monk's music is not the easiest listening. The only thing which is not easy about Criss-Cross is to keep your foot from tapping, to divert your attention for a single moment from the opening chorus of Hackensack to the last, lovely chorus of "Crepuscule With Nellie."

"...To attempt an analysis, description or explanation of Thelonious's music-making would be superfluous. His greatness lies in the very fact that he transcends all formulas, all well-worn adjectives and cliches; only a new vocabulary, perhaps, could suffice. One thing though, is certain; this is the happiest of albums, leaving one with an extraordinary feeling of elation." - Nica De Koenigswarter, original liner notes.

  1. Hackensack
  2. Tea For Two
  3. Criss-Cross
  4. Eronel
  5. Rhythm-A-Ning
  6. Don’t Blame Me
  7. Think Of One
  8. Crepuscule With Nellie

ORG Music
SKU: THELCC00BL-LP00 ID: 188240 Catalog ID: 2292 Created: 10/28/2014
Shipping Restrictions: There are no restrictions.